Skip to content

Sartorial Handcuffs

February 24, 2013

vest3vest2vest1vest4 vest6 vest7 vest8

Originally planned on taking these photos at Ateneo’s grade school playground area ’til I realized my minimal fabric count might be too scandalizing to a child so hopping off to a different building was a must.

It felt very rebellious to have maximum skin exposure at a place with so many sartorial boundaries. I despised dress codes, you see. So a no sleeveless, nothing shorter than 3 inches above the knee, and – at the time this was deemed with utmost importance -a no slippers ruling in college made it very difficult to dress up daily. I had to resort to throwing long skirts (even pants, sometimes) over whatever skimpy bottom I was wearing to enter certain buildings – most especially faculties.

I guess to some extent I will never fully recover from feeling momentary panic at seeing a Manong Guard (aka violator-catcher) so I tried to inject a proper dose of formal into my outfit – just in case I get hauled to some office (yes, three years after graduation I still have these delusions.) So thanks to my ForMe vest for being the sole garment I found comforting and, come accusation-time, probably even redemptive?

Seriously though, I missed Ateneo and shooting this there wasn’t some vengeful, in-your-face act. Still, it was rather fun parading my behind to heavily clothed kids. Must go back. I rather enjoyed the (s)troll.

Vest, FORME | Inner top, OLD NAVY | Floral shorts, SABRINA by TEENA TAN | Sunglasses, RAY-BAN | Metallic sandals, ASOS 

9 Comments leave one →
  1. May 28, 2013 8:02 pm

    that veeeeeeeeeeesttttt!

  2. February 26, 2013 5:20 am

    I love you for despising dress codes! Guilty here too. Haha. Love the shades of your lippie. It goes well with your flats. 🙂

  3. February 25, 2013 5:12 am

    This look made my day! ♥♥♥

  4. Crocs Are Awful permalink
    February 24, 2013 11:07 am

    I love the sandals!

    • April 3, 2013 4:27 pm

      Thank you! Glad you like them. They’re just a tad bit painful so i dont wear them as much 😐

  5. February 24, 2013 8:18 am

    you look amazing, alyssa! love your shorts. 🙂 btw, do you still remember me? we met during the Pin-Up Girl fashion show and i was one of the muses there haha!

    sartorialust.blogspot.com

Leave a Reply

