Skip to content

A Letter to My Shoes

January 21, 2013

557bd9525eed11e294f522000a9f30b8_7

 

Dear Sonja (A. Wang),

Because I scoured three different cities in LA to find you, in the end ordered and had you delivered to meet me in Michigan, and have been keeping you wrapped up in your box in fear that the snow will do terrible things to your skin (aka beautiful leather), I feel inclined to celebrate your (literal) coming out in the best way I know how – a blog post. Here’s to fun times, chill times, amazing times, hell, even not so good times – I know you will elevate me literally and metaphorically (maybe even metaphysically?)

And I promise to make you my favorite pair – to be worn ceaselessly until you crack and wither.

I now pronounce us better than Brangelina.

-A

(I had to.)

12 Comments leave one →
  1. January 29, 2013 2:43 am

    A worthy looking pair of shoes to write a blog post about. 🙂 I know my favorite shoes are babied and lined up (so I can look at them periodically) during winter (which is all of two weeks in Florida) where I imagine they dream of their “coming out.” Great post.
    -April

    • January 30, 2013 5:18 am

      At the risk of sounding real shallow, there is something comforting and relaxing about looking at your favorite pairs, right?

      Really? Winter in Florida’s just two weeks? You guys are lucky!

      Anyway, I hope winter goes by faster for you so their ‘coming out’ can actually be realized. Happy stomping, April! 🙂

      -Alyssa

      • January 31, 2013 4:07 am

        I don’t think that sounds shallow, but I might be bias since I do the same thing. And yes, Florida has a short and mild winter. Most years it’s more like an extension of Fall. Thank you!
        -April

  2. January 24, 2013 9:18 am

    I just discovered your blog upon researching things about Bacolod and I guess I have a new bookmarked blog in mi computer ;D you’re not only pretty but write very interestingly as well! New follower here Ms. Alyssa 🙂

    • January 30, 2013 5:18 am

      Thank you very much, I’m glad a random Bacolod post led you to me. 😀

  3. January 23, 2013 2:33 am

    Santa Monica, Beverly Hills and LA!

    Love,
    your driver lol

  4. January 22, 2013 12:40 am

    I love your writing style! So funky and funny and very creative! I love your shoes by the way. But do not baby her too much or else she would demand for you to wear her all the time, which could be bad you know. You dont want her looking all worn out with soles hanging out like tongues. Im definitely gonna be a follower from now on. Love it!

    • January 30, 2013 5:20 am

      You know what, now that you mention it, my shoes have been acting that way, fervently demanding to be worn ALL the time. But I will heed your advice, soles looking like tongues are never welcome. haha!

      Thank you, dear!! 🙂

  5. January 22, 2013 12:36 am

    Haha. I love your writing style! So funky and funny and creative indeed. Do not baby your shoes too much it might get spoiled and want for you to wear her all the time, which could be bad you know. You dont want them precious get ruined in no time. Nice shoes by the way. I envy you. Couldnt afford those kinds. My hubby will definitely kill me.

    • January 30, 2013 5:22 am

      Don’t worry, I buy in moderation. I would kill myself if I buy too many things I can’t afford. hahaha

Trackbacks

  1. Let’s Talk About Flats | alyssalapid.com

Leave a Reply

