Skip to content

Athletic Chic

July 9, 2012

Pleated top, GENESIS ALCANTARA | Shorts, TOPSHOP | Pumps, CMG | Bag, FORME | Bobbie pin, GOODY

Wore this to this year’s Preview Best Dressed Ball. Yes, it was a ball and yes, I was wearing shorts. In my fabric-less defense, the theme was athletic chic. So unlike last year’s ball where almost everyone was in gowns, people could actually get away with more casual looks this time. (Thank God.)

Athletic chic. SUCH a challenging theme coz 1) I don’t have any sport and 2) I’m not really a fan of any particular sport. If you ask me what I was dressed up as, I’d probably say 1) a runner or 2) a volleyball player – whichever I think I could defend more- even if my defense consists of but one answer –  because of the cyclings/extra short shorts. (duh).

Anyhoo. This top, although not very athletic, I knew I just had to wear. It’s by a good friend of mine, Genesis Alcantara, and I’ve loved it ever since the first time I laid eyes…on his sketch. Kept the focus on the top – with its pleats and its beautifully draped asymmetrical hem. Accessories were a no-show and kept my hair simple with just a lone bobbie pin – perfect for that twisted tendril.

LOVED this year’s roster of Best Dressed women. Post on it soon.

8 Comments leave one →
  1. July 19, 2012 9:58 pm

    Your hair is so cute!

    http://www.LoveNiki.com

  2. July 11, 2012 2:30 pm

    That’s rocking chic!

  3. July 10, 2012 3:58 pm

    This is stunning! Really love the look, Alyssa!!! ❤

    Gem
    http://gemnikkaonthego.blogspot.com

  4. July 10, 2012 5:03 am

    Hahaha I have to say, when I saw the title of this post, I wasn’t sure about whether or not to read it–the word “athletic” threw me off; I abhor most sports (except figure skating, which is lovely to watch xD). But when I saw that top in the thumbnail, I decided to go give it a click. It’s gorgeous! 🙂

    • July 12, 2012 4:51 am

      Hahaha! I’m not that much of a sports person too! Was even considering not attending coz I didn’t know what to wear. hahaha but thank you so much! 🙂 Glad you liked it 🙂

Leave a Reply

