Skip to content

Pinoy Pride

September 12, 2011

Hello again!

‘member I told you about me sharing my Philippine Fashion finals? Well, here it is. πŸ™‚

For sir Dan’s class, we had to style any Filipino costume/dress and make it look modern. Most of my classmates’ projects were research based but I wanted mine to symbolize my whole experience in the class.

Here’s what I wore.

Clothes: Baro, custom-made; Shorts, H&M; Clutch, Aranaz; Heels, Charles & Keith; Sunglasses and necklace, Forever21

Photographed by the awesome Tippi Sy πŸ™‚

A little story. This baro top is actually a uniform in our parish choir (yes, I’m part of it, I’m a good girl like that. 😐 ). And before Phil Fash, before SoFA even, I never wanted to be seen in it. I didn’t want pictures tagged and I always changed right after the performances because I didn’t like the look.

I guess I felt like this about our costumes in general. I remember having a SoFA Fashion Friday where we had to wear something indigenous. I didn’t have anything to wear so I didn’t come to school in theme.

Now, bola aside, I really do have an appreciation for Philippine fashion. I won’t be wearing butterfly/Imelda sleeves out to the mall but I now see its beauty and its meaning. The ati-atihan prints and all other tribal patterns are now appealing to me. Even indigenous materials! I seem to be going for them a lot now – Aranaz clutches, Ylla jute mesh shoes, capiz accessories, and more. So this outfit, to me, is symbolic of my new found love for all things Filipino. I used to despise the top, now I’m wearing it in as part of a very-Alyssa ensemble – short shorts, heels, sheer. haha Okay, I feel like my post is sounding like a paper. You get my point though, right? Great!

Now let’s move on. πŸ™‚ Here’s a pic of me with my awesome photographer, Tipper. πŸ™‚ She was wearing a Bagobo inspired outfit. LOVE ❀

Meet Jireh de Jose. This sweet girl is also from Michigan! πŸ™‚ Β (I am too. haha for those of you who didn’t know. haha) she just went to the Philippines for SoFA. πŸ™‚ oh oh oh and get this, her godbrother, who is also from Michigan, is the boyfriend of my good friend (who’s in Cali). HAHA small world!!! πŸ™‚ Anyway, I love what she’s wearing! she did that by herself! πŸ™‚

and here’s a picture of me with THE Dan Duran!!! πŸ™‚

Guess what! He’s in this month’s issue of Preview as one of the finalists in PEFTA – Preview’s Emerging Fashion Talent Awards!!! So please please grab a copy and check out Dan’s amazing dress – which, btw, is the most expensive one in the set.

I tried to take shots of the feature but they didn’t turn out so…good. but ill still show you coz I’m super excited for him, not to mention extremely proud. πŸ˜€

grab a copy of Preview’s September issue! πŸ™‚

more posts to follow πŸ˜‰

8 Comments leave one →
  1. Kevin permalink
    January 21, 2012 10:35 am

    Hi there Alyssa! I just like to ask where did your photographer bought her 3/4 bagobo outfit? Thank you! Mabuhay kayong lahat!

  2. September 12, 2011 2:52 pm

    You look so dalagang modern pilipina. Really love how you styled it πŸ™‚

    Kaye (http://thestyleflux.blogspot.com)

  3. MICHIGAN ROX! permalink
    September 12, 2011 10:35 am

    GO MICHIGAN!!!!!

  4. September 12, 2011 7:12 am

    wow! loving your idea! good choice about your experience!:))

    –jena http://fashiondiy101.wordpress.com/

    • September 19, 2011 3:08 pm

      Thank you, Jena! Glad you liked it. Coz my finals wasn’t really researched based. Haha :))

Leave a Reply

