Skip to content

My Hair Secrets

March 23, 2011
tags:

I’ve been getting comments from a lot of people that they like my curls and have been getting questions as to how I style my hair so I thought I’d just blog about it.

Thing is, my hair is naturally curly, and most of the time I don’t do anything with it or put anything. So as per my curls, they’re wash and wear. I know it’s not good practice to do this but I usually leave the house with my hair still wet so I really don’t get to style my hair anymore. My curls are just always air-dried. But I also have bad hair days (a lot actually) and this is when I put out my trusty ammo. Here are what I usually use:

*clockwise

1) Flat Iron – If I want to spice up my look, which I rarely get to do nowadays, I just flat iron my hair. On most days though I just iron my ‘bangs’ – bangs meaning the few strands in front because my bangs grew out a long time ago. This is my usual routine. 🙂

2) Garnier Fructis Style Surf Hair – this is like pomade (or maybe  it is. not so sure. but the texture is like wax for guys) which I use to style my hair and define the curls more. I also use this when I feel like my hair is extra frizzy so that the curls can be tamed, so to speak. It’s also very effective if you want to group strands together.

3)  Tresemme Extra Firm Control Hair Spray – this tip I got from a SoFAmate, Jan. If I want my curls to retain its volume, I bend down like I’m trying to reach the floor with my hair covering my face and spray this all over. After spraying, I whip my hair back up ala Pussycat Dolls and I’m good to go. 🙂 What I like about this is that it doesn’t make the strands hard like most hair sprays I know.

4) Neutrogena Triple Moisture Deep Recovery Hair Mask – Okay I don’t get to use this as often as I should but when I do I’m really happy with the results. It’s like my very own hot oil in the shower. Just like other hair repair treatments, you put some on your hair, leave it for about 15 mins, rinse and you’re done. This is especially useful if you like coloring your hair or ironing it. You really see results.

So those are my go-to products. 🙂 I rarely ever use brushes. For the longest time now I haven’t gone out with a comb/brush. I don’t really use it. People with curly hair generally don’t unless they flat iron it.

What I like about curly hair is that it’s so easy to maintain and like I said, it’s wash and wear. It doesn’t really matter if you know that it’s actually frizzy, it’s meant to look that way. It always looks styled (or at least I think it does. hahaha)

So if you hate having to style your hair every single day, just go curly. 🙂

 

hmm. thinking if I should get a haircut though…

2 Comments leave one →
  1. Dars permalink
    April 9, 2011 4:47 pm

    i just read this. finally, u posted something about ur fabulous hair! i think ill get me that Neutrogena Triple Moisture Deep Recovery Hair Mask. 🙂

Leave a Reply

