Skip to content

wedding bliss :)

November 26, 2010

Hey! πŸ™‚

Last November 13, a dear teammate of mine, Joe Hizon, got married to an uber gorgeous woman, Kaila Tingcungco. Aside for being really happy for them, I, of course, saw this as another opportunity to dress up. I rarely have formal events to go to these days. (Which is not so bad given the current state of my wardrobe – all casuals).

Got excited to wear a dress. Yay me. Big but. I still didn’t have a dress to wear two days before the wedding. So I had to go crazy-shopping for a wedding dress. Luckily, Topshop always (and I mean always) has something I like. After a long time in the dressing room and tons of clothes tried on, I finally left the store with two items. but I’ll save the other one for a different post. πŸ˜€

Anyway, here are some tips in looking for wedding outfits.

1. It’s best to wear something formal. It doesn’t necessarily have to be a long dress or a gown, just wear something with a formal cloth or cut. A-line always works. And chiffon is now my new favorite. πŸ™‚ You know everyone else is gonna look great, hell, the whole entourage probably had gowns made for this. The least you could do is dress up too. πŸ™‚

2. If there’s a color ban or color request in the invite, follow it. Do anything you can to make the wedding perfect. Good thing there were no such demands in this particular wedding.

3. Try not to wear something too revealing – a tip I completely overlooked. It’s usually not suggested to wear uber low-cut dresses or uber short dresses to weddings but the dress was perfect I just had to get it. I did cover my neckline with a necklace. You’ll see. πŸ˜‰

4. If you are wearing something sexy, have something to cover yourself up in church. Some churches really won’t let you in if you are wearing something inappropriate. So just be ready and throw on a scarf or a blazer. Another reason to bring a cover-up is because when it gets cold, well, poor you.

5. Wear heels. I think for some people weddings and formal events are really the only times they dress up and try to look pretty and girly. So why not make the most of it? Go all out. Wear a dress. Wear heels. Put make up on (and yes, this means complete with eyeshadow and lipstick.)

Speaking of make-up, since I was too lazy to do my own make-up, I went to Shang to have other people do it for me. haha I tried going to MAC and asking them for a ‘make-over’ but apparently, you have to buy 5K worth of their items before they use their products on you. hmph. it wasn’t like that a few years ago.

Luckily, the Face Shop was very accomodating and they really took the time to do my makeup. and yeah, they did it for free! πŸ˜€ and their make-up artists are really good! too bad i don’t have a close-up picture. But if you need someone to do your make-up for you, I recommend trying the Face Shop and just asking them for a make-over or a demo. I’ve tried it there before also and the results were excellent. I’m definitely going there again. and because their make-up was so nice I ended up buying some stuff. teehee. couldn’t resist buying make-up. make-up and clothes are my weakness. oh, and food. πŸ˜€

Anyway, here are a few shots of me. πŸ™‚ My hair wasn’t down originally but I didn’t have enough time to fix my hair. I tried just putting it up, but the pins kept falling (is that how soft and smooth my hair is now? haha) so it’s a little messy.Β I was so late for the wedding. I literally just arrived when the priest was saying the sign of the cross. I did get to see the bride and groom kiss though. πŸ˜€ That’s enough right?

and here’s a shot of me with my pretty and fashown teammate, Pat Dumlao:

btw, I recommend that if you don’t feel like wearing a dress or if you can’t find something to wear, or if you just wanna look real classy, wear what Pat wore – a pretty blouse paired with a black pencil skirt and classic accessories. It’s both classic and chic – a sure winner. πŸ˜‰

My clothes: Dress, Topshop; Blazer, Vintage; Shoes, Payless Shoesource; Necklace and bag, Bazaar.

Make up by: The Face Shop

Photographed by: Darianne Rabaya (thanks Dars! πŸ™‚ )

Hope my tips help πŸ™‚

Oh, I don’t have a good picture of the bride. I’ll look for one and edit the post. She was wearing a stunning assymetrical dress at the church then took of the strap at the reception. Oh and did I mention her dress was brown? It was so unconventional, I loved it! πŸ™‚

2 Comments leave one →
  1. November 29, 2010 1:12 am

    What a gorgeous look to wear to a wedding… that dress suits you perfectly, and I adore your necklace! Lovely blog πŸ™‚
    xox,
    Cee
    http://cocoandvera.blogspot.com

    • November 29, 2010 10:35 am

      Hello Cee! Thank you so much. πŸ™‚ just followed your blog. πŸ™‚

Leave a Reply

