Skip to content

Unlikely Combination

October 13, 2010

I’ve always had this notion that brown didn’t go well with black. I don’t know why. I just never liked brown with black, or brown with anything for that matter. Brown with black was disgusting to my untrained eye.

BROWN: On second thought, I think I do remember where my personal vendetta against brown and black started. I guess I just used to think that brown was for oldies (you know, like those brown bags with black details and vice versa, or *big gulp* dark brown bags. Of course now when I think of dark brown bags I think of Louis Vuitton *dreamy look*). Brown was for old people. Oldies LOVE brown. (I think the tendency is that the older you get, the more you revert back to basics and classics – blacks, browns, creams. Right?) Point is, back then, only oldies liked brown.

BLACK: Black, however, is a totally different issue. I adore black. Black will always be my color of choice. I used to think that anything went well with black, except, of course, for brown.

BUT I was wrong. Now I appreciate brown. Wait, scratch that, I adore it. I carry a brown bag everyday to work and brown bags when Iā€™m not at work. More importantly, I now love brown AND black. I love both individually and together. And I even have pictures as proof! Enjoy my black and brown mix (with a teeny hint of white.)

 

Photographed by: Joana Velasquez

Clothes: Top, Forever 21. Brown pants, H&M. Bag, Mom’s. Black flats, Parisian. Earrings, Charlotte Russe.

Hype this look on lookbook. šŸ™‚

 

19 Comments leave one →
  1. November 6, 2010 1:34 pm

    i envy your face . your so goddamn pretty !

  2. monettecn permalink
    October 13, 2010 6:35 pm

    Pretty mo ever! Hahaha. I really like your pants! ā¤

    • October 13, 2010 10:32 pm

      awww. thanks, sweetie. šŸ˜€ I like em too. Got them on sale. 50% off šŸ˜€

  3. October 13, 2010 5:25 pm

    Hey I love what you put together. I know why you used to hate brown! And why you used to think brown and black shouldn’t go together. Back in freshman year you wore a black shirt with brown tights… and the rest is Mikey’s fault. =))

    • October 13, 2010 5:37 pm

      Thanks, love! šŸ™‚ wait, I don’t remember. =)) what did he do? hahahaha Mikey talaga. šŸ˜

      • October 14, 2010 6:00 pm

        I’ll kwento the next time I see you. Physics class pa! šŸ˜€

  4. Erwin permalink
    October 13, 2010 3:01 pm

    Wow Alyssa! Always thought you had that model look! Never was I interested in fashion but you totally made the combination look good. Kudos to you and your fashion blog! šŸ˜‰

  5. Krissy permalink
    October 13, 2010 2:10 pm

    I love it alyssa! you can wear anything and still it would look good! promise! šŸ™‚ see yah soon!

  6. Joana Velasquez permalink
    October 13, 2010 1:39 pm

    Hahaha! I’m not sure if I knew that black and brown can go together. I think I haven’t tried it yet! Haha! I love it!

    • October 13, 2010 5:41 pm

      Haha you should šŸ˜€ I love it too. I also love the shots and the editing. I wonder why. šŸ˜‰

      • Joana Velasquez permalink
        October 14, 2010 5:42 pm

        Hahaha! You wonder why? I hate you!:))

        • October 14, 2010 6:00 pm

          joke lang. malamang. =)) my photographer’s professional, what can i say. =))

      • October 14, 2010 5:58 pm

        I super love the 4th photo. Nice one Joana. šŸ˜‰ YOUR NAME IS AWESOME!

      • October 14, 2010 5:58 pm

        I super love the 4th photo. Nice one Joana. šŸ˜‰ YOUR NAME IS AWESOME! HAHA!

      • Joana Velasquez permalink
        October 14, 2010 6:17 pm

        YOUR NAME IS AWESOME TOO!:D Hahaha. Thank you Geoanna!:)

      • Joana Velasquez permalink
        October 14, 2010 6:17 pm

        YOUR NAME IS AWESOME TOO!:D Hahaha. I love the 4th photo too! Thank you Geoanna!:)

Leave a Reply

